Log in

Log in

The Gladys M. Thomason Distinguished Service Award

Each year, GCTM selects one outstanding individual as the Gladys M. Thomason Award winner. To be eligible for the award, the nominee must:

  • Be a member of GCTM;
  • Have had at least five years teaching or supervisory experience in mathematics or mathematics education in Georgia; and
  • Be fully certified in mathematics, elementary or middle grades education at the fourth year level or beyond; or if the nominee is a college professor, he or she must be at least an assistant professor.

Candidates must be able to demonstrate significant service beyond their normal job requirements for the improvement of mathematics instruction at the local, state, and national levels.

You must be a member of GCTM to nominate an educator for this award. Members wishing to nominate someone simply need to fill out the Gladys M. Thomason Nomination Form.

2022 Award Winner

Kristi Caissie

Naomi Elementary School

Walker County

Previous Recipients

2021 Denise Huddlestun
2020 Bonnie Angel
2019Nicole Ice 
2018 Chuck Garner
2017 Christine Franklin
2016 Tammy Donalson
2015 Cheryl Hughes
2014 Ellice Martin
2013 Peggy Pool
2012 Debbie Poss
2011 Lynn Stallings
2010 Susan Craig
2009 Patricia Barrett
2008 James Wilson
2007 Barbara Ferguson
2006 Dan Funsch
2005 Christine Thomas
2004 Tom Ottinger
2003 Dottie Whitlow
2002Barbara Ham 
2001 Margaret Faircloth
2000 David O’Neil
1999 Thomas Cooney
1998 Wanda Oldfield
1997 Earl Swank
1996 Cathy Franklin
1995 Bill Roughead
1994 Jane Barnard
1993 David Stone
1992 John Neff
1991 Becky King
1990 Larry Elbrink
1989 J. Norman Wells
1988 Mildred Sharkey
1987 Wanda White
1986 Aurelia Hinson
1985Ed Davis 
1984 Bill Bompart
1983 Jo Anne Mayberry
1982 Peggy Neal
1981 Doris Dickey
1980 Dora Helen Skypek
1979 Lex Buchanan
1978 Clare Nesmith
1977 Randall Hicks
1976 Cherry Clements
1975 Dorothy Simmons
1974 Gwen Shufelt
1973 Margaret Edenfield
1972 Gladys M. Thomason

If you need immediate assistance, please contact Susan Imrie at

To report issues with the website, please submit an IT Request Form or contact Julie Matthews at

To report issues with registration, please contact Tammy Donalson at

Connect with us!


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software