Log in

Log in

Awards for Excellence in the Teaching of Mathematics

Georgia teachers are eligible to receive awards in for Excellence in Teaching Mathematics. An elementary teacher (K-5), a middle school teacher (6-8), and a high school teacher (9-12) will be selected as recipients.

A teacher who is nominated should meet the following criteria:

  • be a member of GCTM,
  • have taught mathematics at least 3 years in Georgia,
  • have strong content foundation in mathematics appropriate for their teaching level,
  • show evidence of growth in the teaching of mathematics,
  • show evidence of professional involvement in GCTM and not have received the Excellence in Teaching Mathematics award in the past 5 years.

To nominate someone for this award, simply fill out the Excellence in the Teaching of Mathematics Award Nomination Form.


2022 Award Winner - High                       2022 Award Winner - Middle                 2022 Award Winner - Elementary   

    Stefanie Frey                         Melanie Williamson                       Danielle Lanigan 

  Greenbriar High School                                   Lithonia Middle School                                      Hayes Elementary School 

       Columbia County                                               Dekalb County                                                          Cobb County       

Previous Recipients

Elementary School Level

  2021 - 
2020 Kendra Howard Metter Elementary School, Candler County
2018Jacqueline RobbinsHaynie Elementary School, Clayton County 
2017 Karen Harrison Nickajack Elementary School, Cobb County
2016 Karen Hersey Nicholson Elementary School, Cobb County
2015 - -
2014 Jennifer Cormican Glynn County Schools
2013 - -
2012 - -
2011 Kathy Spruiell Stripling Elementary School, Norcross
2010 - -
2009 Jane Hannon LaFayette Education Center, Fayette County
2008 - -
2007 Leslie Poythress Gray Elementary, Jones County
2006 Angie Meredith Fayette County

Middle School Level

2021 - 
2020 Jody Boone McIntosh Middle School, McIntosh County
2019Jennifer DonalsonWhigham Middle School, Grady County
2018Robbin HillLovinggood Middle School, Cobb County
2017 Renate Davis McClure Middle School, Cobb County
2016 Dora Brown Palmer Middle School, Cobb County
2015 Ashley Clody Awtry Middle School, Cobb County
2014 - -
2013 - -
2012 Janice Moore Paul D. West Middle School, East Point
2011 - -
2010 Nickey Ice Eastside Christian School, Marietta
2009 Pamela How South Central Middle School, Barrow County
2008 Shirley McDonald Ringgold Middle School, Catoosa County
2007 Karen Lawrence Dean Rusk Middle School, Cherokee County
2006 - -

High School Level

2021 Kim Conley Lee County High School, Lee County
2020 Tamoco Hill Rutland High School, Bibb County
2019Patrick AllgoodRockdale County High School, Rockdale County
2018Loretta MuiseWoodstock High School, Cherokee County
2017 Karen Kline Kennesaw Mountain High School, Cobb County
2016 Emily Freeman formerly Hillgrove High School, Cobb County
2015 - -
2014 Julie Pinto Marietta High School, Cobb County
2013 Carolyn Thigpen George Walton Academy, Walton County
2012 Peter Anderson Troup County High School, Troup County
2011 Donna Campbell Emanuel County Institute, Twin City
2010 - -
2009 Debbie Kohler Sequoyah High School, Cherokee County
2008 Melanie Helms Ware County High School, Ware County
2007 Basil Lee Benjamin Banneker High School, Fulton County
2006 Jean Linner Lassiter High School, Cobb County

If you need immediate assistance, please contact Susan Imrie at

To report issues with the website, please submit an IT Request Form or contact Julie Matthews at

To report issues with registration, please contact Tammy Donalson at

Connect with us!


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software